For drivers pulled over for speeding in Virginia, a fine and points off their license are the typical consequences. However, there are specific circumstances under which exceeding the speeding limit can result in a misdemeanor on your record. If convicted, you may have jail time and your license suspended on top of the fines. We often represent clients charged with significant speeding violations.
According to the Commonwealth of Virginia, reckless driving includes traveling 20 more miles per hour over the speed limit or faster than 80 miles per hour.
Law enforcement gives citations, also known as traffic tickets, for a variety of common offenses, such as the following:
- A rolling stop at a red light
- Driving too close to a vehicle
- Improper passing or turning
- Making an illegal U-turn
- Failing to yield
Speeding becomes a class 1 misdemeanor when it meets the criteria for reckless driving.
Although the speed limit is 70 mph on many highways throughout the state, driving 80 or miles an hour is still a misdemeanor, even though it is only 10 mph over the posted limit. You can receive two days in jail for every mile per hour over 90 mph. The court may add 30 days in jail to the sentence for drivers who exceed 100 mph. Depending on the situation, you might get the maximum penalty of up to one year in jail if convicted.
If convicted of reckless driving, your fine could be up to $2,500. In addition to the points, a six-month license suspension may come with your conviction. The legal process can be time-consuming and stressful. A strong defense can help reduce the charges and minimize the license repercussions.