COVID-19 OFFICE UPDATE
 
Schmergel & Mersberger, PLC is here for you during this difficult time by continuing to remain open and fully functioning. Whether you’re having a family law, protective order, criminal law or traffic defense related issue, our attorneys are available for phone or video consultations to meet your needs. To schedule a consultation, please call our office at 703-763-2645 or contact us through our website and we will respond promptly.

What are DUI penalties in Virginia?

On Behalf of | Jul 13, 2021 | Criminal Defense |

Drunk driving penalties can be a significant set back for accused drivers. For that reason, accused drivers in Virginia should know what the penalties are how to fight drunk driving charges.

The penalties for drunk driving charges

There are several different penalties drivers who are accused of driving under the influence may face including:

  • Fines and fees;
  • License suspension;
  • Ignition interlock device;
  • Jail time; and
  • Community service

DUI charges can result in both criminal penalties and administrative penalties. Administrative penalties can include license suspension and fees. Criminal penalties can include jail times, fines and community service, as examples. A fine associated with drunk driving charges can range from $250 to $2,500 and a one-year license suspension. Drivers will also be required to install an ignition interlock device on their vehicle. Some drunk driving charges can carry jail time.

Enhanced drunk driving charges and its penalties

Additional DUI charges can also lead to additional penalties and consequences. Enhanced penalties may also be applicable in certain situations such as if there was a child in the car; the driver was a commercial driver; there was property damage or injury; the accused driver refused to submit to a blood or breath test; and in some other circumstances.

Drivers may face drunk driving charges that can lead to criminal penalties and administrative consequences if they have a blood alcohol content (BAC) level of 0.08% or higher. They may also face DUI charges if their BAC is lower but they are considered impaired to drive. The potential penalties and consequences of drunk driving charges can be overwhelming which is why accused drivers should be familiar with their criminal defense rights and options.