All states have strict laws against drunk driving. However, it is important to understand how the laws are different between states. For instance, in Virginia the law requires you to install an ignition interlock device for all offenses, even the first one.
It is important to understand what an ignition interlock device is and how they operate. According to the state of Virginia, a DUI offender must provide proof of enrolling in an appropriate ignition interlock device program within 30 days of a court order.
What is an ignition interlock device?
An ignition interlock device is a personal breathalyzer. A third party company installs this device in your car. When you wish to operate your vehicle, you must breathe into this device. The car will not start without the device ensuring that there is no alcohol on your breath. After you start the car, you must breathe into this device periodically to ensure that you have not consumed alcohol since starting the vehicle.
When must I install an ignition interlock device?
A first time DUI offense necessitates at least six months with an ignition interlock device installed in your vehicle after 1 year of license revocation. If the courts find you guilty of DUI for a second time, the state of Virginia will first revoke your license for at least 3 years and then require at least 6 months with an ignition interlock device.
For a third and any subsequent offenses, the courts will revoke your license for an indefinite period of time. Once the courts allow you to have your license back, there will be another minimum 6 months with an ignition interlock device.